2020 Charles Schwab Challenge

For the 74th year, the best in the game are coming to Fort Worth to play on a shot maker's course. Charles Schwab is proud to celebrate challengers and great competition as the tournament's title sponsor.

logo golf ball on the first tee

Celebrating the communities of Fort Worth and Dallas

Charles Schwab is honored to help continue the tradition of this historic tournament, the longest running event on the PGA TOUR still held at its original site. Our company takes pride in supporting the communities where we live and work. Our roots in the area date back to 1977 when we opened our first local branch in Dallas. Today, we employ more than 4,000 people across the state. Each of us are inspired by those who work hard, overcome challenges and pursue their dreams.

Media Contact

Peter Greenley, Charles Schwab & Co

View media guide

Schwab and the PGA TOUR announced a new charitable platform, “Rise to the Challenge,” which will raise money to benefit the TOUR’s COVID-19 Relief Fund nationally and the tournament’s Birdies for Charity fund in Dallas-Fort Worth.

Rise to the Challenge 2020

Opens in popup+ Transcript

[Music playing]


Narrator: Safety and social distancing may be keeping us apart this week but that doesn’t mean we can’t all rise to the challenge.


Help raise money for charity and have some fun while we do it.


See how to donate at Schwabgolf.com and you could win autographed clubs, balls and flags, a 2020 Ryder cup team bag signed by both captains or once-in-a-lifetime golf experiences.


Enjoy the return of golf and together, let’s rise to this challenge.


[Rise to the Challenge June 8-14 promo]


[SchwabGolf.com with Charles Schwab and PGA Tour logos]


No fans, new raffle add twists to Charles Schwab Challenge

Rise to the Challenge promo

When the first group of players at the 2020 Charles Schwab Challenge tee off at Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas, on June 11, they’ll be doing more than simply starting up a round of golf.

Read article >



Watch the story of this one-of-a-kind '73 Challenger

We are bringing our challenger spirit to the PGA Tour.

Charles Schwab Corporation was founded in 1973, and the name of our golf tournament is the Charles Schwab Challenge. It was natural to have a '73 Challenger be the first innovative prize that we introduced in the tournament.

Past winners of the plaid jacket

When the winner of the Schwab Challenge holes out on the final green, he joins an elite club of golfing greats. Since 1952, this honor has come with an official Scottish royal tartan plaid jacket. Past winners include Ben Hogan, Arnold Palmer, Lee Trevino and Jack Nicklaus. Last year’s winner, Kevin Na, joined modern legends including Jordan Spieth, Phil Mickelson and Zach Johnson. A full list of past champions adorns the beautiful Wall of Champions on the first tee.

Kevin Na, winner of the 2019 Charles Schwab Challenge

Raising the Leonard Trophy

Each champion’s name appears on the tall and impressive Leonard Trophy, which resides year-round at the club, and bears the name of all winners dating back to 1946. When the champion returns to defend his title the following year, he is honored at the annual Champions Dinner with a small replica Leonard Trophy, featuring a silver bowl and eagle atop a traditional wood base.

Event Photos

Photos from the Charles Schwab Challenge 2019

  • Ben Hogan statue

    The Ben Hogan statue welcomes the world's top golfers to Colonial.

  • Ian Poulter

    Ian Poulter admires his approach in Ft. Worth. His accuracy helped him take 5th place in 2014.

  • David Toms

    David Toms eyes his drive. Toms competed at Colonial for more than a decade.

  • Jordan Spieth

    2016 winner Jordan Spieth attacks the course.

  • Zach Johnson

    Two-time winner Zach Johnson still holds the tournament record score.

  • Rickie Fowler

    Rickie Fowler aims to improve on his 14th place finish in 2018.

Schwab Challenge info

Sponsorship page > 

Do you have a product, service, or otherwise want to be a part of our historic event? We would love to speak with you.

Event page >

Get schedule information for the 2020 Charles Schwab Challenge, June 8-14.